Full Moon and Glitter Kitty – So Suzy Stamps

Hi! I am here today with a card for Halloween. This is such a fun time of year. I have to admit I don’t really get into the scary or horror side of it. I can’t even watch Jurassic Park without nightmares (no kidding). So while I used the scary tree and scary kitty, I made them pretty instead. lol

There are a lot of elements to this card but they are fairly easy. I started with a piece of black chalkboard paper and cut it down to make a card front. Admittedly I don’t know much about pan pastels but I had this white that I thought would be perfect. So I used my finger, rubbed it around in the pan and then on the paper to make the smoky or foggy look. It also sparkled which was a bonus. I went all the way around the edge just using my finger and the white. Essentially I kept rubbing until there weren’t any heavy areas or finger prints. Then I used the Chalk Edger in Tin Can to stamp the tree, cat and sentiment directly onto the paper.

image10_edited

Next I created the moon using the Altenew Stamps on whisper white. I stamped the bottom layer in Tin Can and the darker layer in VersaFine Smoky Gray. They were just different enough in color to show great details and I cut the moon out by hand.

image3_edited

I wanted a ‘ring’ around the moon. I used pastel’s to do this. Again, I’m not super familiar with pastels so this may not be the ‘official’ way to use them. I started off with yellow, then orange and finally red to add the ring. I did this prior to gluing the moon down so it wouldn’t be on the edges of the moon.

After that I stamped the scary tree and cat in black on whisper white paper. I started to fussy cut them out and decided to use the Scan n’ Cut instead. I stamped 3 images of each so if one was messed up I still had 2 to select from. It cut them out in just a minute, way faster than I could cut them out. Using the mini blender and distress black I went over the edges and the stamped image to darken it. When I glued them down I offset them from the lighter image I had stamped on the paper directly. This made it look shadowed.

image_edited   image8_edited

I glued down the moon as well. Once the glue dried I added the orange skittles from the Halloween Skittle Set to tree swirls. I wanted to set the cat off so I added green stickles to the eyes. Then purple for the hat and then I had to do the rest in black. Looking at it up close it seems distorted but if you look at the overall card it is a pop of color and glitter that sets it apart.

image9_edited

The right bottom corner seemed blank so I used decorative scissors to make the diagonal cut. Then I stamped the bat on the black piece I cut off so it had the foggy look already. I fussy cut the bat and added a little more of the pastel. Using tangelo twist paper I cut the card base, glued down the black card front and added the bat. I love how it turned out.

Tip: Years ago when I started scrapbooking someone taught me about the 3 dots. No matter how the page looked, if it was missing that something you couldn’t put your finger on, add the 3 dots. It always works! Of course you can over dot but for the most part adding just a few here and there is perfect. It gives it whatever it was that you felt was missing. I would love to see how you use your dots, so please share. 🙂

image4watermarked

Thank you for reading and I would  to hear from you!

Amy


Leave a Reply

