Ghostly Fright – So Suzy Stamps

Hi. The spooky season is upon us. This is such a fun time of year, even though my son says he’s ‘too old’ to trick or treat. Deep down I keep hoping he’ll change his mind. lol I don’t really decorate for Halloween but I do like to make things to send out or give away.

Today I am writing for So Suzy Stamps and or October Stamp Release. These stamps are amazing! The ones I used are just a couple from a much larger selection. She now has some items from Unique Laser Designs as well. If you love die cut items you will LOVE this shop!

image2

I started with a large size tag and referencing Justine Hovey’s Northern Lights Christmas Card technique I made the night background. (As a side note, Justine is offering 40 Christmas Card tutorials for $25. The cards are amazing and the techniques can be used for anything. I highly suggest it if you haven’t signed up. Click here to go to her page.) Now back to the tag.  After doing this I set it to the side and started working on the items I planned to add.

I picked out 4 different ghosts cutouts from Unique Laser Designs and painted them with white Dylusions acrylic paint but you could use any brand. I put those aside to dry and stamped my haunted house. I used the gray midi stamp pad because I thought black would blend in way too much, even using dimensionals to raise it off the tag. Then I fussy cut the house out.

I wanted to use one of the trees in the background so I stamped the tree image using black midi in the background that would be behind the house and to the right side. For the one in the foreground I did something a little different. I embossed it in silver pearl first and then painted it Dylusions green to quickly add lines so it would stand out more. I colored the head-stone using a Stampin Up Silver marker. When I did this it made the texture rough which I thought looked better.

image

I put dimensionals on the house and adhered it to the tag. I decided to put the head-stone in front of the house. By this time my ghosts were dry so using hot glue I put the ghosts and head-stone on the tag.

image3

I stamped the sentiment on whisper white paper and then grunged the edges using the foam blender I had used to do the background. Then I swiped it across making the lines giving it a different look.  I used dimensionals to add this to the tag.

image5

The last two steps were very easy. I used silver metallic bead ‘ribbon’ to wrap around the bottom and then I used yellow stickles on the windows of the haunted house. I love how this turned out and definitely can’t wait to send it to a Halloween loving friend or put it on a larger canvas.

Here is the final tag.

image6watermarked

Don’t forget to check out this months challenge over at So Suzy Stamps. The theme is Halloween! 

Thank you for reading and I would love to hear from you!

Amy


http://static.inlinkz.com/ppr.js

 

Leave a Reply

