Love Letter – Mixed Media – So Suzy Stamps

Hi. I am writing today about a mixed media canvas I made for So Suzy Stamps. Mixed Media is my passion! It is a fairly new way of creating for me and I still have a lot to learn. The possibilities are endless and you can do use anything!

For today I used a 5×7 canvas panel as the base. It was pre-gesso’ed so I did not need to do any prep, I could get right to pasting and spraying. I started with a couple of my favorite stencils and light modeling paste. Using my small spatula I added the shapes and words from the stencils in various directions and amounts on the canvas. I did 3 canvas’ together (see my other post here) with similar colors and the same stencils but in different ways. I did not want the whole stencil on any of them. So I laid the stencil down on a portion of the canvas and added the modeling paste to it. I set it aside so it could dry thoroughly (overnight).

Once dry I started spraying. There was no rhyme or reason I just picked colors out that I liked and just started using them. I did start with lighter colors and work my way to darker colors to ensure all of them would be visible. I also let the colors mingle by turning the canvas and holding it in various directions for the colors to run. The picture below was the outcome once the colors were dry. I then used Perfect Pearls to go over the feather and clock images to make them stand out more.

image (38)

This was actually a very easy one to do. The hardest part was the modeling paste and color spray. I had already created the envelope weeks ago in a light cream color that was perfect. I grunged the sides using vintage photo and a Tim Holtz foam blender along the edges. Then using ‘Phineas’ the Peacock with a purple stamp pad I put the swirls along the edges of the envelope. I used purple because it was one of the prominent colors in the background. I also used purple stickles to add a little sparkle to the shapes at the end of the swirls.

image3_edited

I glued the envelope down securely to make sure it would not come off. The pieces that look like aged tape or washi tape is actually paper. I had those pieces that I had fussy cut out around the time I made the envelope. They looked so good and looked like old tape to me so I used them on three sides.

To slide into the envelope I wanted something beautiful. Again I had this tag that I had created earlier so I grunged the edges. Picked out the saying that fit perfectly on the tag and said exactly what I wanted to convey. Gotta love Audrey Hepburn (and Suzy for capturing those quotes). On the front there was an empty oval with flowers on each end. I picked out a frame that fit the oval and stamped the word ‘Laugh’ in the middle. I then used stickles on the flowers on each side. Once the stickles dried I punched a hole in the tag for the pink ribbon.

image_edited image2_edited

This is the finished product and I absolutely LOVE it! Like I said very simple after the paste and ink were dry.

image4 watermarked

Thank you for reading! I would love to hear from you.

Amy


Supplies Used

So Suzy Stamps (link is on the left side of my blog)
– Art Is Stencil
– Peacock Feathers Stencil
– Time Travel Stencil
– Fireworks Sprays – Angel Pink, Grape Jelly, Pear Tart, Summer Sky
– Phineas Peacock Stamp
– Laugh Stamp
– Audrey Hepburn Stamp
– Crop-a-Dile to punch hole
Other
– Tim Holtz Foam Blender
– Tim Holtz Vintage Photo Ink Pad
– 5×7 Canvas Panel
– Ribbon
– Light Modeling Paste
– Spatula to spread paste
– Lindy’s Stamp Gang ink sprays
– Perfect Pearls – Pink, Purple, Teal Blue, Green
– Purple, Pink, Green Stickles
– Prima Black Metal Oval Frame

Leave a Reply

