Under the Sea Challenge – So Suzy Stamps

Happy August! I can not believe how fast this year seems to be going by. While it’s warm let’s keep celebrating summer and water. What is prettier than a sunny day at the beach? (Without the sharks preferably 🙂 ) This month I’m back with one of those cute little penguins. There is something about them that I just love! This is the card and then the steps on how I made it are below. It was so easy!

image9_edited

1. I started with an A2 size piece of watercolor paper. I misted the paper with water, then used a piece of scrap paper to block off the bottom half so I could spray he sky using Glistening Wave Color Bloom by Prima. I used a watercolor pen to spread the ink around.

2. I used the heat gun to dry the top (only because I’m impatient). I used the scrap paper to block off the top along the same the line and another piece of scrap paper to block off the corner where the ‘sand’ would be. Then sprayed the ocean using a darker turquoise blue ink spray. I made sure the paper was wet so the ink would randomly run over the paper. I also used a watercolor pen to spread the blue ink around.

3. I used an oat color from Lindy’s Stamp Gang to spray the sand. Then I sprayed Treasured Hymn over it. So the water and sand have a shimmer.

4. I went back over the water in streaks with another color blue to give it some depth.

5. Where the sand and water meet it was kindof a rough line so I thought using a white pearl would give it that breaking wave look. Yeah, as you can see that did not work. lol

image6_edited

6. I put the paper off to the side so it could dry on its own.

7. Next I wanted to make the wood columns you see at the beach. (I can not for the life of me remember the actual name for those) I looked around my table heaping with stuff and found a brown paper bag. So I cut 2 strips of the bag, uneven and crooked. Then I started folding it over and over, almost in a roll but going over the creases at each fold. I used glue at the end to keep it from unrolling. Then I did the next piece the same way and cut the bottom off straight on both pieces to put in the sand.

8. I used twine to wrap it around the top and bottom like the ones at the beach, then I glued both of them down onto the card front.

9. I used a walnut ink spray and small brush to paint the grass. I diluted it for the first layer and then used the darker color on top, hoping for depth.

image4_edited

10. Next I added my little penguin. I had colored him previously using Spectrum Noir alcohol markers. I used dimensionals to put it on the card. Then I added dark lines under the feet for shadowing.

image3_edited

11. The happy sun and cloud was perfect for this sky. I colored it a couple of different ways and liked this one the best. I fussy cut it out and used dimensionals on this piece too.

image2_edited

The sentiment inside could be for birthday or just because.

image

The finished product.

image9_edited watermarked

Thank you for visiting, I would love to read your comments.

Amy


Supplies Used:

So Suzy Stamps (link on the left side of my blog)
– Penguin Stamps
– Sun and Cloud Stamp
– Warm Sunshine Sentiment

Stampin Up Amy (www.stampinupamy.stampinup.net)
– Whisper White Paper
– Dimensionals
– Watercolor Pen

Other
– Watercolor paper
– Spectrum Noir Alcohol Markers
– Brown paper bag
– Twine
– Lindy’s Stamp Gang Ink Sprays
– Walnut Ink Spray
– Small Paint Brush
– Color Bloom Ink Sprays by Prima

Leave a Reply

