Special Delivery

I absolutely love making stuff for people and especially pregnancy related. I do not get to do very many of these since everybody I know has either stopped having children or they are not going to have children. So when the opportunity comes up I can’t wait to get to it. A friend of mine called yesterday and asked I could make something pretty for  friend of hers that was pregnant and needed a pick me up. I asked did she have anything in mind she said no just make it pretty. While we were talking I came up with a saying for the inside and told her, she said I love it. The ideas started flooding in, I couldn’t wait to start working on it.

My criteria, pregnancy and pretty. Since I do not do many of these cards I have very few stamps or sayings for pregnant ladies so I went to my Silhouette. I found the cutest pregnant silhouette in the store and downloaded it. They do not know the sex yet so I wanted to keep my colors kindof neutral. I searched through my little tiny stack of paper (insert incredible sarcasm with the little tiny stack of paper) and found he perfect patterns to use. I wanted to use ‘Happiness is…’ but it is one of the few So Suzy Stamps stamps that I do NOT have. There wasn’t time to order it for this card, but I can see an order in my future. (Thank you Suzy for creating ‘Happiness is….’ stamps!) I used the ever popular Samantha font – which is amazing if you do not have it get it. Instead of cutting the words out I decided to have the Cameo draw the words on and then color them in. I thought cutting them that small would be incredibly hard to adhere them without getting glue all over me an the rest of the card. I love how they came out and will most definitely do it again. I used the pen adapter with a Stampin Up marker (soooo easy). I also cut out the pretty silhouette on this grungy yellow/gold paper. Once everything was cut and trimmed I grunged it with Tim Holtz Vintage Photo.

image4_edited

The size of the card is 5×7. I cut the base out of whisper white. I cut a piece of the bluish paper down to a 5×7 size for a card front. Then I cut an additional blue piece and lightly stamped the giant butterfly stamp from Stampin Up in a very light sand color. This way it is there but doesn’t detract from anything else. You can see it a little more in this picture.

image3_edited

I dry layered everything to see exactly what would look the best and this is what I came up with. When I was sure I picked out my embellishments. I wanted a ribbon on the silhouette so I chose some green seam binding ribbon. This way I could pull the thread and make it bunch up. I added rhinestones to her neck and over the ‘i’s in ‘Happiness is’.

image8

I glued everything down using glue dots, dimensionals or hot glue (butterfly, dragonfly, ribbon). I added the always gorgeous butterfly and dragonfly from Reneabouquets (link is below). She does stunning work. Here are some close ups.

image6   image1

 

The outside and inside of the card. The inside is ’10 Fingers, 10 Toes, and a sweet baby nose to love and kiss’

image8  image5

 

That was it for this card and I hope she loves it! I’d love to hear your comments.

Amy


Supplies Used:

Stampin Up Amy (www.stampinupamy.stampinup.net)
– Mini glue dot
– Dimensionals
– Marvelous Marker in Chocolate Chip
– Swallowtail stamp (Butterfly)
– Seam binding ribbon
– Sand Ink Pad
– Rhinestones

Reneabouquets (www.reneabouquets.com or Etsy https://www.etsy.com/shop/Reneabouquets)
– Enchanted Garden Dragonfly
– Tiffany Glass Butterfly

So Suzy Stamps (www.sosuzystamps.com)
– Happiness is… Stamp


Other

– Hot Glue
– Tim Holtz Vintage Photo Ink Pad and Foam Blender
– Silhouette Cameo (pregnant lady silhouette)
– Samantha Font

 

2 thoughts on “Special Delivery

Leave a Reply

