All 6 Arms on the Card – So Suzy Stamps

Remember when you were little and your parents said “Keep your hands and arms in the car”? I don’t know why but that was what came to mind when looking at this cute little multi-armed octopus this month. We have SOOOO many stamps being released this month it was really tough to decide what to use. Be sure to check out all of the new stamps! You can even start working on your Christmas card for this year. I created three cards and this is the first of them.

I stamped a lot of them onto whisper white paper so I could color them in and then fussy cut them out. I am an amateur when it comes to coloring and blending so it was great practice for me. I loved the fish, coral, sea pant and even that cute little seahorse. I say little but they are all a great size, not too small that you have to put several on a card to fill it up. This is a picture after I finished coloring some of them and then I cut them out.

ready to cut 2

Next I cut my card base, making it out of whisper white as well. In my stash I have a little pack of ATC size white watercolor paper. I pulled one out, used some Tim Holtz Broken China ink pad and the foam blender to make the perfect background. I inked around the edges and then some in the middle and sprayed with water to let it run and cover all of the white. I used my heat tool to dry it a little faster simply because I’m impatient. You can let it dry normally and it would take only a few minutes. One thing I also do is to use a card front when creating. It works for me because if I mess it up I can turn it over or only the front of the card is messed up not the whole card. I usually get paint and/or ink all over myself somehow so the paper ends up with ink fingerprints everywhere. So while I have cut the card bases, I am working on just the front.

coloring octopus paper

Since I had my pieces already cut it went really quickly. I matted my background on Night of Navy paper using snail adhesive. Then I actually ran the sea leaf stems through my Xyron instead of putting dots on them. I used dimentionals on the yellow coral and the cute little octopus so they would pop up. I had planned to use the ‘Happy Birthday’ sentiment on the front so I used my amazing MISTI to put that on. I love how if it’s not dark enough I can reink and restamp and not worry about seeing a double image. lol

octopus misti

I used the MISTI to stamp my inside sentiment as well. I love this stamp and think I will use it ALOT! It says: “May your day be filled with the warm sunshine of love and the bright colors of laughter.

inside octopus

Here is a close-up of the octopus part of the card. I did add purple stickles to the little dots and suction cups. I can’t help it, if something stays still long enough I’ll put some stickles on it. lol

octopus close up

And the official finished card. I love it, it’s just light and happy. Thank you for reading and I would love to hear from you.

octopus1 watermarked

Scrappily,
Amy


Supplies Used:

So Suzy Stamps (link on the left side of my blog)
– Octopus
– Sea Coral
– Sea Plant
– Happy Birthday Fancy Sentiment
– Warm Sunshine Sentiment

Stampin Up Amy (www.stampinupamy.stampinup.net)
– Whisper White, Night of Navy Paper
– Snail Adhesive
– Dimensionals

Other
– MISTI (www.mysweetpetunia.com)
– Tim Holtz Broken China Ink pad and foam applicator
– Watercolor Paper
– Water
– Stickles
– Spectrum Noir Alcohol Markers
– Xyron Adhesive

Leave a Reply

