Happy Father’s Day – So Suzy Stamps

In honor of Father’s Day I made a couple of very special cards. One is very simple while the other is a little more complicated.

So let’s get to it. The first came out as well as I was hoping. I just love it! I am definitely going to find more ways to use the course pumice gel.

This is the finished card.

Finished Band Saw watermarked

I started by stamping the image using VersaMark ink using my MISTI (which I love love love). I made two images of each of the globe and band saw because at this stage I was not really sure what I was going to do.

image18

Then I embossed the four images image using copper. I wanted it to be metallic but not gold or silver. This would be a great time to use a slate type color too.

image17

I knew I wanted to use my brick wall stencil but I didn’t just want flat paint or glitter. So I tried something new (for me) and mixed Rusty Paper with Course Pumice Gel and made a gritty mixture to make brick.

image15 image14

I used a piece of tan paper and just randomly put the brick pattern all over in different directions. Again, I still was unsure of exactly what I had planned. I set it aside to dry over night.

image11

I went back to working with my embossed image. I cut it down to the size I planned for the card. I did know my finished size was going to be 5×7. I then inked the sides using Tim Holtz Vintage Photo which is my go to for grunging.

image10

I then flipped through a stack of random paper I have to see if any of them would work. I found some neutral prints that I felt would go well with the overall card.

image7 image4

Once I picked out my printed paper, I chose a complimentary solid color to add to the layering. I tore the edges off of all the papers except the band saw Then I grunged and curled the edges of each piece. I also added some droplets and dots randomly on the papers using Tim Holtz distressed inks.

Assembly time – I chose an ivory card base and used a dark brown card front then added my 3 torn pieces of bricks. I attached them using Stampin Up Snail Adhesive. The next layer was my patterned paper, then solid both attached using Stampin Up Dimensionals. The final layer was the band saw. After putting all of this together it was missing something. So I decided to wrap baker’s twine around several times and tied a simple knot. That’s it. It looks a lot harder than it was.

Finished Band Saw watermarked


Supplies Used:

So Suzy Stamps (www.sosuzystamps.com)
– Band Saw Stamp
– Happy Father’s Day Stamp

Stampin Up Amy (www.stampinupamy.stampinup.net)
– Very Vanilla, Chocolate Chip, Crumb Cake, Cajun Craze Paper
– Embossing Buddy

Other
– MISTI (www.mysweetpetunia.com)
– Tim Holtz Vintage Photo Ink pad and foam applicator
– Bakers Twine
– Splash and spot stamps
– Copper Embossing Powder (Ranger)

One thought on “Happy Father’s Day – So Suzy Stamps

  1. Holy cow!!! First, I LOVE THE BRICKS! That whole mixed media concept added to the card is FABULOUS! The copper embossing powder worked wonderfully!

    Like

Leave a Reply

