Little Boy Blue…..Let’s Go Fishing

Hi. Welcome to the So Suzy Stamps June Release. We have the cutest stamps coming out this month so make sure you head over and take a look at all of them (www.sosuzystamps.com). I am only featuring four of the many that are debuting.

I chose this little boy fishing to start the month off. Something about him just drew me in. Maybe it was the little worm on the hook or possibly the boy reminded me of my son fishing when he was little. Either way I fell in love with it. If you have read my earlier posts you know watercolor is a weakness for me. I decided I wanted a watercolory  (not sure that’s a word) background for it. So I started with my Fireworks in Blue and Green to get that blended outdoorsy style. Well that’s what it was supposed to be. lol It had a blue hue with a little green so I was satisfied.

image60   image57

I stamped him using Stayz On black ink so the water wouldn’t run the colors. I colored in my little red headed boy wearing overalls using Stampin Up markers. I added a single flower at the back of the dock, it just looked like it needed something. lol I colored the little worm (he is so cute) and the hook naturally had to be silver. Then came the hard part for me, the water. I had a picture in my mind of what it would look like. A beautiful mix of blue and green with perfect shading to show depth…..that is soooooo not what I ended up with. I definitely need to keep practicing. It’s still cute but not like the picture in my head. lol

image52

My finished painting

image46

I added the saying in Stayz On black as well. I picked out two masculine colors for the matting. Luckily I had skittles to match the yellow paper. (I have a ridiculous amount of skittles) I adhered everything using Stampin Up Mini Glue Dots. The card base itself was made using kraft style brown paper. I also went back and added the line of bees flying behind the boy.

image45

The finished card and envelope.

boy fishing new

It was an odd size card. I didn’t measure the watercolor piece so by the time that was done the measurements were a little abnormal.  So I used my trusty We R Memory Keepers Envelope Punch board and made an envelope. I love decorating envelopes but honestly I forget half the time. That or I’m in a hurry and don’t think about it aka forget. So this time I had a few minutes and added those little bees and flowers to the envelope corner.

image44  image42

Once the envelope was done the set was finished. The supplies are listed below. Thank you so much for visiting.

Amy


Supplies Used:

So Suzy Stamps (www.sosuzystamps.com)
– Mini Flower Stamp
– Little Boy on Pier Fishing
– Water Ripples
– Bee Line
– Sentiment Stamp – ‘May you day be sunny and bright’
– Skittles
– Fireworks: Summer Sky and Pear Tart

Stampin’ Up (www.stampinupamy.stampinup.net)
– Mini Glue Dots
– Stampin Up Markers
– Stampin Up Paper

Other
– We R Memory Keepers Envelope Punch Board
– Watercolor Paper

june 1 sign

Flickr Group – https://www.flickr.com/groups/sosuzystamps/
Facebook Group – https://www.facebook.com/groups/sosuzystamps/

5 thoughts on “Little Boy Blue…..Let’s Go Fishing

  1. Your card is absolutely marvelous! Water-colouring and I have an ‘iffy’ relationship, so when I see someone work magic with it – as you have – I’m in awe! Your scene is sheer delight and I’m delighted that you made your little guy a red-head, as that’s my husband’s hair colour. The envelope, with the sweet bees, is the perfect extra touch! I, too, often *forget* that I have an envelope punch, so thank you for the reminder! Fabulous creations; you’ve made me smile this cool, rainy morning!
    ~c

    Like

Leave a Reply

