Don’t Forget to Fly – Designed for ReneaBouquets

Hi! I am here today with as a guest designer for ReneaBouquets. I am incredibly excited and honored to be doing this as it is my first time as a guest designer. If you have seen my work you know I LOVE Renea’s butterflies and other incredible items that she offers in her store.

I started with a 6×6 piece of paper that I had in my stash. I then distressed and grunged two 4×6 pieces of paper that complemented the first layer. I really wanted to use a stamp from Penny Black called Wistful. It is the silhouette with the flower pieces in the girls hair that is flying back. Something about this stamp I just love. I stamped it in Stampin Up Early Espresso and layered it off-set from the other 4×6 piece and the bottom layer. I had another stamp that I wanted to use from the Prima Finnabair series, kind of a steampunky look with the words ‘Don’t Forget to Fly’. She is on the bottom right but I wanted something more. So I used the speckles stamp from Tim Holtz Stamp Cracks and Speckles. The ink I used was a rose gold which didn’t necessarily match but I felt like it was bright and complimented the direction I was heading. I knew I wanted to use Renea’s Vintage Rose Quartz Textured Roses, they were perfect! I added some metal leaves and laid the roses in between the two kindof overlapping them. I did not have to alter the roses at all for them to fit in the piece. I also wanted to use this dress form. It is cut out of brown Stampin Up paper and I sprayed it with Prima Color Bloom gold foil (love love love these  sprays). I used some random ribbon I had, it’s almost like an elastic ruffle. It was perfect wrapped around as a skirt. Then of course the gorgeous Timeless Rhinestone Button in the middle. This button takes my breath away. I didn’t want to make a bow for this piece because I didn’t want to cover anything up. So I used pale pink tulle to make a bow behind the dress form and then adding a hanger at the top. Now that I had added the main pieces it was time to embellish. My first step was Renea’s butterflies, Secret Garden butterfly set. I love these! They were ideal for this project and I used all three in descending size with the largest at the top. I added a garden gate key between the first and second layers so it peeked out on both sides. Then I used the Petaloo berry clusters on either side of the roses. I wanted to give the butterflies a little more texture in the middle so I decided to use gold microbeads that I attached by putting a line of glue down the center and adding the beads. One of my favorite things to use is glitter glass. Renea has her own glitter glass that she hand tints. I used pale pink for this project. I added it to the wings of the steampunky lady at the bottom and in the saying I used sticker letters for the word fly. That was it then I sat back and just looked at it and love how pretty it came out.

image (31) image (29)

image (26) image (24)

image (23) image (22)

image (30)

Please check out Renea Bouquets at http://www.reneabouquets.com
Renea’s Etsy store https://www.etsy.com/shop/Reneabouquets
Renea’s Facebook https://www.facebook.com/ReneabouquetsEtsyShop

Supplies Used
– Reneabouquets – Pale Pink Glitter Glass, Gold Microbeads, Secret Garden Butterflies, Timeless Rhinestone Button – Gold Tone, Garden Gate Key, Vintage Rose Quartz Textured Roses, Tim Holtz Distress Ink in Vintage Photo, Tim Holtz Cracks and Speckles Stamp, Sewing Trinkets, Petaloo Spring Berry Clusters, Prima Color Bloom Spray

Other Supplies
– Flying Unicorn – Metal Leaf Adornments
– Penny Black stamp – Wistful
– Stampin Up – Early Espresso stamp pad, Brown cardstock
– Pale Pink Tulle
– Cream color ribbon

Thank you so much for reading and I look forward to hearing from you!

2 thoughts on “Don’t Forget to Fly – Designed for ReneaBouquets

Leave a Reply

