An Artist’s Palette – kind of

I get the Flying Unicorn kit every month. In one of the kits there is always an ‘off the page’ project. One month was a wooden artist’s palette. Honestly I had NO idea what to do with it. Then the guest designer on Flying Unicorn created a palette that was stunning. The colors she achieved were breathtaking. So while my layout is similar to hers my colors, not so much. I loved the bright, vivid colors she achieved with paints and sprays. I think I went overboard on the golds and darker colors (obviously) so even after it was dry I continued to try and add lighter colors, let it dry, add some more lighter colors, let it dry, you get the picture. I like it…..not sure I love it, but I like it. The saying I put in the middle fit it perfectly!!!! “To be Creative means to be in love with life”. I got it from So Suzy Stamps (http://sosuzystamps.com) so be sure to stop by and check out the amazing sentiments she has, among other things. To give the palette texture I used modeling paste and stencils on the bare wood. I sprayed inks and water to get the colors to run and mingle. I used Stickles to make the paint ‘puddles’. Then I randomly added flowers and metal adornments to the area at the bottom. I used white gesso on all of the adornments, not completely covered but kindof touched with gesso so the inks would stick. I glued the paintbrushes to the palette and then sprinkles ink around in splats and drops. I think that’s all I did but please let me know if you have any questions.

Happy Creating!

palette 3palette 1palette 2

Leave a Reply

